Skip to Content

Press Releases

Rep. Weber Introduces Pro-Israel Resolution

Washington, D.C. - Today, U.S. Reps. Randy Weber (R-TX), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), Rick Allen (R-GA), Juan Vargas (D-CA), and Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ) introduced a resolution to reaffirm the United States’ commitment to Israel’s security and recognize the authoritarian and extremist regime of the Islamic Republic of Iran as a threat to Israel and global stability. This resolution will ensure that the Islamic Republic of Iran does not build or acquire a nuclear weapon, or the United States will take firm action to hold them accountable.

"Israel is an incredible nation and our strongest ally in the Middle East, said Rep. Weber. “As Iran’s nuclear potential reaches a new level, at the same time that the extortionist Chinese Communist Party is influencing the Middle East, standing up for Israel is more important than ever. The United States must stand proudly against the threats and atrocities happening in Israel, and this is a commitment that I conveyed directly to Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during our recent visit there in conjunction with the U.S. Israel Education Association. This resolution sends a clear message that the United States stands with Israel and will continue to do so for years to come.”

“Israel’s national security is synonymous with our own, and I am proud to stand with my colleagues in affirming the United States’ commitment to our strongest ally in the Middle East,” said Rep. Harshbarger. “Given the continued threat posed by Iran’s tyrannical regime and other rogue actors in the region, it is more important than ever to reaffirm our pledge to ensure that Iran does not acquire nuclear weapons and are held accountable for their atrocities.”

“Israel is our most important ally in the Middle East, and key to our fight against terror,” said Rep. Gottheimer. “If Iran, the world’s leading state sponsor of terror, has proven anything, it’s that they can’t be trusted. The IRGC, Iran’s paramilitary terror arm, has directly, or through their proxies including Hezbollah, Hamas, and PIJ, killed hundreds of Americans, and attacked our bases and our allies in the region. Iran poses an enormous danger to Americans at home and abroad, and to our allies. With this bipartisan resolution, we are bringing together both Democrats and Republicans to stand up against a nuclear armed Iran and stand with our historic partner Israel.”

“I was honored to join a bipartisan group of my colleagues on an educational trip to Israel in February,” said Rep. Allen. “Our conversations with Prime Minister Netanyahu and Minister Dermer laid the foundation for today's resolution recognizing the State of Israel as one of our strongest allies. As Iran's nuclear capabilities continue to evolve, it is paramount that the United States and the international community continue to stand firm with Israel. I am proud to be a part of leading this important bipartisan effort to bolster our partnership with Israel now and in the future.”

“I’m proud to stand by my colleagues in reaffirming the United States’ commitment to Israel’s security by recognizing the Islamic Republic of Iran as a growing nuclear threat to our ally,” said Rep. Vargas. “As we celebrate 75 years of Israel as a nation, we must never forget the iron-clad bond that is shared between the U.S. and Israel, and we must continue to strengthen this relationship. Israel is our strongest ally in the Middle East, and they are a defender of freedom and democracy, and the United States must always support Israel’s right to defend itself. This resolution signals to both Iran and the globe that America promises firm action against those who seek to bring harm to Israel.”

This resolution would:

1.  Recognizes the State of Israel as our strongest ally in the region and reaffirms the support of the United States to defend its right to existence;

2.  Stands firmly in defense of Israel in an unprovoked attack on their state and citizens;

3.  believes the United States and international community must ensure the Islamic Republic of Iran does not build or acquire any nuclear weapons.

Cosponsors of the legislation include: Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA), Rep. Diana Harsbarger (R-TN), Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA), Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Rep. David Trone (D-MD), Rep. Susan Wild (D-PA), Rep. Nicholas Langworthy (R-NY), Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT), Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), Rep. Greg Murphy (R-NC), Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH), Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS), Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA), Rep. Barry Moore (R-AL), Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH), Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI), Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX), Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA), Rep. Erin Houchin (R-IN), Rep. Russ Fulcher (R-ID), Rep. Greg Pence (R-IN), Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Rep. Warren Davidson (R-OH), Rep. Clay Higgins (R-LA), Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX), Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC), Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), and Andy Harris (R-MD).

Read the resolution here